An Underground Digression

bar144

Tunnel

I don’t remember the where, or the when, but I remember a tunnel.

A tunnel leading up out of the earth, like a black and white mine shaft on Gunsmoke.

A tunnel humid and stinking in the mid day sun, faded blue carpet covering cement but just the center.

Just the center, where people walked down into the dark.

 

I don’t remember the why, or the how, but I remember I am running straight up the tunnel.

Running with my heartbeat flat in my ears like an off tune piano.

Running up towards the twin doors of cracked white wood and plastic glass, sunlight streaming through.

Sunlight burning through the plastic as I hit the doors alone.

 

I don’t remember…

I don’t remember where I went from there alone.

 

Where do I go from there?

Where?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

