A Talmudic Digression

bar35

Psalm

Harp song and shadow silk.

I stand at the water’s edge and beckon the horizon, calling my sins down to me.

They swarm like peacocks, clinging each to each, resplendent in the dying light.

Wearing them like halos, gray and rust and gold. Humming them, laughing them, decanting new tunes from the same old wine.

They settle over my shoulders like a purple shroud, caressing and cajoling, weighing me down to the warm sands again.

I sink to my knees, raise my hands to the dusk, screaming to Potiphor…"SIN? WHAT KNOW YOU OF SIN!"

The sun sinks into the sea at last, turning all to silent fire.

Harp song and shadow silk, kneeling at the water’s edge.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

