Life as a Game Show

reilly-twiggy.jpg

Allow me to step out of a Caledonian mindset to honor another giant of my childhood as he passes.

Charles Nelson Reilly has died today at 76. He was a tony winning actor, acclaimed director, popular speaker and a man of enormous personal courage, being one of the first openly homosexual actors on American television.

A Game Show fixture in the 70s and 80s, in later years he was best known for guest roles on such shows as The X-Files and Millennium.

“Humorless people like you scare the hell out of me. But I’ve developed a few therapies of my own. I’ve learned to appreciate the preposterousness of any profundity. And in my distress, I am able to find the smallest, most absurd details. As if God were looking down, winking at me, and letting me in on the joke.” – Reilly as Jose Chung, Millennium

whodoo3.jpg

He also happened to play Mr. HooDoo.

On some dark nights, he stall haunts my dreams…trying to steal my hat. I don’t know why.

Godspeed, Sir.

2 Comments

  1. My gods! Someone else who actually remembers Lidsville! Most people have no idea what I’m talking about when I mention the show.

    Though I admit my most familiar memories of him are from the Ghost and Mrs Muir series.

    Ah the weaselly laugh of his. It will be missed.

  2. Nice to know I’m not the only one who remembers. Most of my time on the grid is spent with those who would simply look at me quizzically, if I mention the name…but his sarcasm, his skewed sense of humor, and of course, that righteously famous laugh were guideposts to my life.

    Charles? Look on the bright side. Now you’re back to hassling Paul Lynde again.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

